Ovarian stimulation scan

Today we were due for 2nd “ovulation scan”. We are now in the second part of the IVF, following the “down regulation” which means my natural cycle was turned into temporary menopause (ca. 2 weeks). The first part involved a daily injection of buserelin and even though Chris put his entire gentleness and love into administering it, there was nothing pleasant about it. I m good with pain and needles, and to be honest, the first two days I thought “it’s easy, I can do it”. I can do it, but it is not that easy. I work full time so the morning nausea caused by the drug made my journey to work really uncomfortable. My anxieties about my mum (complete with nightmares) rose to sky-high levels and I felt like a nervous wreck. I lost focus at work. This is on top of various digestion problems which I am not able to fix with a whole range of various pills because everyday I’ve got a different issue…Luckily, now we are only on half the dosage of buserelin, but we’ve got additional injection in the evening (gonal f). This one makes my follicles grow faster.

At the first ovulation scan I was overjoyed: my body produced 22 follicles! Like a garden of Eden. But today the doctor said that there are additional ones which means I m at a serious risk of over-stimulation which can be dangerous and brings a new set of side effects… So for the time being my gonal-f injection dose is minimal and my follicles are not getting bigger.

The ovulation scans take place every second day. I was lucky the first fell on Bank Holiday so didn’t have to take time off work. The second one was early in the morning so at work I could simply say that I’ve had a GP appointment; and for the next one I’ve arranged a “working from home” day under a false pretence of fixing a boiler. I don’t have any other excuses ready for next scans. I cannot tell my manager that I’m going through IVF – I’m not really sick in the strict sense of the word… Besides, she is new and so I don’t know her at all, I’ve got no idea how she would react. I like my job and I am good at it, I don’t want to jeopardise my career before I even have a kid. When I’ll have the kid, then I am pretty sure my career will get a hit anyway, no matter how good I am at my job.

About kidsandotherthings

This box is to small to dwell on my passions, the complexities and simplicities of my personality, my likes and dislikes so I get straight to the point: it's time for me to have a baby. I didn't grow up wishing for a baby and counted the days until I could start a family. Neither did I wake up one day and thought that my life is missing a kid. It's not. I love my husband, I love our life and frankly, I am not sure I am ready to change it. Nor did I gave up to the pressure of having a baby after being happily married to a gorgeous, sexiest man alive. I just think it's time for me to try something new. I know these decisions shouldn't be taken lightly and I spent a lot of time thinking things through. Well, my mum is also suffering from incurable cancer and that give me a whole lot of reasons. Turns out, it's not that easy for us. We are going through IVF and something called ICSI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ovarian stimulation scan

  1. carolina647 says:

    IVF is hard enough as it is and even harder when you have to balance other part of you life around it. I hope this cycle goes smoothly and leads to good results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

