IVF wait before the Transfer day

This is what’s been happening since the egg collection day:

IVF
The doctor rung is the day after the egg collection to tell us we’ve got 6 eggs. I was surprised because I had 40 follicles. Anyway, I was thinking that 6 is better than nothing.

Out of the 6, 5 have fertilised via ICSI and one was damaged. Out of the 5, 4 were excellent and 1 was average.

Two days later we got another update. 3 embryos are doing fine, 1 was either exceeding expectations or was broken (TBC) and one was below average.

It was very strange to hear all of these. We were joking that our babies had very educated nannies looking after them.

I had hardly any side effects, nothing noticeable. I wasn’t in pain or any discomfort. Yesterday I got an awful heartburn, but that was it.

Chris was doing some internet research how to make the embryo stick. He took it very seriously, I must say! He even gave me details regarding pelvic exercises… Other than that, most medical journals recommend no stress (and practice staying relaxed), not to tense one’s tummy, no heavy lifting, loads of laughter to de stress, leading an active life to ensure proper oxygen flow, no hot/cold temperatures, no alcohol, no coffee, no showers immediately after the transfer, take folic acid, eat dark fruit & veg for more alkaline tummy environment, drink milk, eat avocado, Brazil nuts and pineapple.

Tomorrow is Day 5 – the transfer day.

My mum
My mum’s health really deteriorated. My family called in the evening of the egg collection day. I was on a first flight out at 6am the next morning, and another flight today to get back for the transfer, and will fly again the day after the transfer. It’s absolutely the worst timing possible, but I’ve got no choice. I am not worried about the number of flights I m on, but the incredible stress I am under with my mum’s being so unwell… There is no way I can relax and I started thinking that we won’t be lucky with IVF this time.

About kidsandotherthings

This box is to small to dwell on my passions, the complexities and simplicities of my personality, my likes and dislikes so I get straight to the point: it's time for me to have a baby. I didn't grow up wishing for a baby and counted the days until I could start a family. Neither did I wake up one day and thought that my life is missing a kid. It's not. I love my husband, I love our life and frankly, I am not sure I am ready to change it. Nor did I gave up to the pressure of having a baby after being happily married to a gorgeous, sexiest man alive. I just think it's time for me to try something new. I know these decisions shouldn't be taken lightly and I spent a lot of time thinking things through. Well, my mum is also suffering from incurable cancer and that give me a whole lot of reasons. Turns out, it's not that easy for us. We are going through IVF and something called ICSI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

